Main
Friday
Mar302012

HILTON HEAD ISLAND BEACH REGULATIONS

Seasonal Rules from April 1 – September 30:
- No Stunt Kites between 10 A.M. – 6 P.M.
- No sand-sailing between 10 A.M. – 6 P.M.
- No fishing or surf casting in designated swimming areas.
- No surfboards, boogie boards or other articles to ride the surf in designated swimming areas.
- No Frisbees or other team sports involving a ball in designated swimming areas.
- No games with metal components (such as metal horseshoes) in designated swimming areas.

 

Prohibited at the Beach All Year Long:
- Liquor, beer or wine
- All forms of glassware
- Shark fishing
- Horses
- Sleeping on the beach after midnight
- The operation, launching or landing of motorized watercraft (except in emergencies).

 

Public Access to Hilton Head Island Beaches:

- Alder Lane Beach Access off South Forest Beach Drive
- Beachfront at Coligny Circle
- Burkes Beach off of Burke's Beach Road
- Driessen Beach Park at the end of Bradley Beach Road
- Folly Field Beach Park off Folly Field Road
- Mitchelville Beach Park off of Beach City Road

- Fish Hall Creek Park at 284 Beach City Road

Note: Islander Beach Park at the end of Folly Field Road is for Property Owners on Hilton Head Island and all cars parking there must have a beach bumper sticker obtained from the Town of Hilton Head Island.

 
Personal Watercraft Rules:
Per the South Carolina Personal Watercraft and Boating Safety Act of 1996:
- No personal Watercraft may be operated at night.
- All passengers on the craft must wear an approved flotation device.
- The craft must be equipped to circle or shut off if the rider falls off.
- No vessel may exceed idle speed within 50 feet of a moored vessel, person or the Atlantic Coast.
- No one may jump a wake within 200 feet of the vessel creating it.
- Anyone younger than 12 in a boat must wear a flotation device.
- No boater may harass wildlife.
 
 
Fishing Regulations:
BEWARE - You MUST have a SC Fishing License!

All individuals (16 and over) must have a saltwater recreational fishing license when harvesting marine resources, including finfish, oysters, clams, shrimp and crab.

The license process is inexpensive and easy:

An annual resident SC saltwater fishing license is just $10. A 14 day license for a SC resident license is $5. A non-resident can purchase a 14 day saltwater fishing license for $11 ($35 for the year). Licenses can be purchased 24/7 by phone at 1-888-714-3611 or online at www.sc.dnr.gov. Fishing license's are available for purchase at Wal-Mart. A copy of South Carolina’s fishing rules and regulations can be found at most of the fishing tackle stores in our area or on the SCDNR website.

If you are fishing on a licensed pier or with a licensed charter captain, you are covered under their permit. You don’t need a license if you are crabbing with 3 or less drop nets, fold up traps or hand lines. Fishermen need a license to crab with a crab trap or pot.

The minimum fine for not having a SC Saltwater Fishing License is $160 and each fisherman could be required to post a cash bond or go to jail. The maximum fine is more than $1,000. Saltwater fishing areas includes the beaches, all saltwater lagoons including those found in Palmetto Dunes and Sea Pines, public boat landings, and public and private docks and piers.

Animal Regulations:
Hilton Head Island's beaches are pet friendly, but we do have regulations concerning bringing pets to the beaches. Get the scoop here